A comparison of new provincial planning laws

Bloem, M. G. (2001-12)

Thesis (MS en S)--Stellenbosch University, 2001.


ENGLISH ABSTRACT: In terms of the Constitution (108 of 1996) provinces are given the responsibility for planning. Following the history of provincial planning it can be seen that the context of spatial planning have changed dramatically. This can be linked to changes in planning theory. The legal and policy environment for provincial planning have been shaped by different national departments concerned with planning. The Development Facilitation Act (67 of 1995) a key piece of legislation moved towards a normative based system for planning. Provinces were given the opportunity to introduce provincial specific legislation for planning. Since 1994 only four provinces the Western Cape, Northern Cape, Gauteng and KwaZulu- Natal have introduced Acts or Bills. To assist the remaining five provinces in introducing province specific planning legislation it is important to establish if the different systems are moving towards conformity. Through analysis of the different systems, mechanisms and institutions, a comparison and evaluation of the different Act and Bills it was established that the provincial planning systems are to a large extent similar and in deed moving towards conformity.

AFRIKAANSE OPSOMMING: Provinsies is verantwoordelik vir beplanning volgens bepalings in die Grondwet (108 van 1996). Deur 'n historiese oorsig van provinsiale beplanning word dit duidelik dat die konteks van ruimtelike beplanning dramaties oor tyd verander het. Hierdie verandering kan gekoppel word aan verandering in beplanningsteorie. Die wetlike en beleidsomgewing van provinsiale beplanning is dinamies. Hierdie veranderende omgewing word geskep deur die invloed van verskillende nasionale departemente wat betrokke is by beplanning. 'n Toonaangewende wet die Wet op Ontwikkelingsfasilitering (67 van 1995) het beweeg na 'n normatief gebasseerde sisteem vir beplanning. Provinsies word die geleentheid gebied om wetgewing daar te stel wat handel oor beplanning. Sedert 1994 het slegs vier provinsies - die Wes-Kaap, Noord-Kaap, Gauteng en KwaZulu- Natal wette o fwetsontwerpe opgestel. In 'n poging om die oorblywende provinsies te help om hul eie wetgewing op te stel is dit van belang om te bepaal tot watter mate die verskillende sisteme van provinsiale beplanning beweeg na konformiteit. Deur 'n analise en vergelyking van die verskillende sisteme, meganismes en instellings, gevolg deur 'n evaluering, is daar bevind dat die provinsiale beplanningsisteme ooreenkomste toon en daadwerklik beweeg na konformiteit.

Please refer to this item in SUNScholar by using the following persistent URL: http://hdl.handle.net/10019.1/52063
This item appears in the following collections: